South Korea to send 5-member team to North Korea to discuss summit details

South Korean President Moon Jae In on Sunday appointed his top security adviser to lead a five-member delegation to North Korea on Sept. 5 to discuss details for the next inter-Korean summit as well as denuclearization on the Korean Peninsula.

Chung Eui Yong will lead the delegation that will include Suh Hoon, chief of the National Intelligence Service (NIS), Vice Unification Minister Chun Hae Sung, Yun Kun Young, presidential secretary for state affairs, and Kim Sang Gyun, a senior official from NIS.

Those five members met with North Korean leader Kim Jong Un in March when they traveled to Pyongyang to plan the historic summit in April between Moon and Kim at the border village of Panmunjeom.

The South Korean delegation will discuss such topics as a concrete schedule for the next summit, ways to improve inter-Korean relations, denuclearization of the Korean Peninsula, and the two Koreas’ goal of reaching a peace settlement, presidential office spokesman Kim Eui Kyum previously told reporters.

The two Koreas agreed in high-level talks on Aug. 13 to hold another inter-Korean summit sometime in September in Pyongyang, but specifics had yet to be discussed.

If held, the meeting will be the third summit between Moon and Kim following ones on April 27 and May 26.

The South Korean delegation will fly directly to North Korea on Sept. 5 over the Yellow Sea and return to Seoul the same day.

All — Kyodo News+

Leave a Comment